Three Onion Soup

Last night was time for me to try out my second soup recipe from the New Covent Garden: A Soup for Every Day.  I had originally planned to have the evening alone and to cook up a storm.  Fortunately I arranged during the day to meet a friend and therefore had some company and another taste tester.

 

 

 

 

 

With almost a kilogram of red onions and a further half a kilo of shallots, eye watering was to come before mouth watering.  The air was so thick with onions that even my guest in the living room was in tears.  I really should figure out the best way to chop onions, anyway it is one of those things I choose to undertake as I do enjoy my onions and get the kitchen extractor fan fixed which may help my future guests comfort!

Once chopped it was time to fry the onions until caramelised which did help to ease the tears a small bit.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This recipe requires slightly longer to prepare and cook than the last but the investment of time was certainly worth it.  Whilst the onions were frying I needed to get the chicken stock ready.  Then as the onions were just right, time to add the stock and a few other ingredients ready for the simmering stage.  You can just make out the sprigs of Thyme that I later had to fish out before serving.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well I did enjoy the soup the taste was not as overpowering as I had imagined.  The onions certainly packed a punch in preparation but in the final product they were very much the part without being too much.  The smells wafting from the saucepan whilst it was all simmering away were very strongly influenced by the thyme but again whilst this was evident in the taste it was not as strong as I had thought.

My friend seemed to enjoy although you can never tell if people are just being polite. This is certainly a recipe I will be making again but I may have to consider how I prepare the onions next time….

About phaddman

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 7 January, 2012, in New Covent Garden Soups and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 36 other followers

