My First Meal in a Vegetarian Restaurant

Well as a meat eater it may be somewhat understandable that I am not a frequent customer of vegan / vegetarian restaurants. Although having now been an obvious question is “Why not?”

Having come away for my reiki course and away from my own food at home I acted on a recommendation from a friend. This landed me with a table for one at Zoukinis Restaurant in Westbourne. Having phoned ahead I was already aware they would be able to cater to my specific dietary requirements.

From entering the restaurant I was greeted warmly and felt comfortable immediately. I was the only patron yet the place did not feel empty. Kelly was extremely friendly and we talked freely whilst I chose my food selection, opting for the Spicy Parsnip Soup followed by the Nutroast.
I was perhaps a little more skeptical than I needed to be. The food was well prepared and full of wonderful flavour, alas I could not finish the main course!

Having been beaten I was in no hurry to consider dessert and opted for a light dairy free panacotta with mango sorbet and raspberry coulis. This absolutely hit the spot and the sorbet was amazing, Kelly mentioned they also have a pineapple one so I will hope to sample that on a future visit.

The best way I can sum up my visit was that it felt like I had been invited into someone’s home and fed a very tasty, lovingly prepared meal. I will certainly be visiting again and would highly recommend Zoukinis.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 2 December, 2011, in Food and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

