What is a Reiki Master?

This is a question I had not considered before doing my Reiki – Master Practitioner course over the weekend.  Another could be how many different kinds of Reiki Master are there?

Whilst I don’t necessarily expect to find specific answers to these questions it is certainly a talking and thinking point for myself and my friends who also practice Reiki.
For those who do not practice, Reiki is a tradition of Natural Healing.  Acting like jump leads to a divine / universal energy the practitioner seeks to be a conduit for this energy to be deliver to the person they are working with.  When the person receiving is open to healing they accept this energy and use it for their highest good to promote physical, emotional, spiritual wellbeing.

In learning Reiki I have been lucky to find a teacher that in my opinion truly lives up to the description Reiki Master.  Mark teaches from the beginning that our primary responsibility is to work on ourselves.  This is something echoed in my Reiki course this last weekend, in fact working with the self is the most important part of it all.  By working with our own healing we are better able to help those around us and the effects ripple out and touch the lives of all we come into contact with.  For those that have not (or not yet) chosen to learn Reiki or any other healing technique then also start with yourself.  Decide what healing you would like in you life, then ask for it, be open to it arriving in whatever form is needed.

So why do I feel that Mark really fills the Reiki Master title?
For starters

  • he practices Reiki every day (this can be as simple as a self healing session)
  • is open to send healing wherever it is needed
  • has a deep understanding of the energies involved and is able to impart that to others
  • gives his students the confidence to not only learn from him and apply his practices but also to build on them and to generate their own understanding of Reiki
  • is available to his students and supports them throughout their unfoldment (with his only nag “have you done your self healing?”)

Most importantly Mark dispels the myth and misinformation that people spread when they seek to induce fear in others, teaching us that in order to truly master ourselves and in turn our Reiki we must set fear aside and simply work through what we face.  I am always inspired by attending a course Mark is teaching and by the stories and quotes he shares.

From this I have taken the first steps in the mastery of myself and my own work with Reiki.
Accepting that although my formal training may have concluded, for now, I still have plenty to learn in this life.
Understanding that I am the only one that can learn these things, the only one that will walk my path.  I do not yet know what the term Reiki Master will mean for me as how this will become part of me is not yet clear.

I wish that all students of Reiki are fortunate enough to have the support and fullness of information that I have been able to find.  Just for today…

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 5 December, 2011, in Comments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. Excellent piece xxx ❤

Leave a Reply

