Chocolate Monster!

My first thought when I accepted that I would need to go dairy free in my diet, was of the things I would be missing.  Probably foremost among those thoughts were Chocolate and Cheese (although not together obviously).

I have recently received my latest batch of goodies and now i’m reflecting on what I have gained from the experience.  Sat above my computer on top of my desk is a Dairy Free advent calendar.  I still have one even at the age of thirty-two.  I love Christmas because it is a time for family and enjoying the people that we choose to have around us.

Out in the cupboard there are shelves that are all but overflowing with dairy free chocolate bars in a variety of forms (most supermarkets have their own branded versions) Chocolate & Orange being a personal favourite.   These are usually in the single individual treat format but for those occasions when a small bar just isn’t enough, lo and behold there are some quite enjoyable vegan chocolate bars from Organica.
These are in 100 gram sizes and previously available from Waitrose but no longer seem to be stocked.  I have therefore been able to find them at the Ethical Superstore which not only gets me the chocolate but allows me to pat myself on the back for being ethical!

Lastly is the treasure that I hadn’t expected, the School Bars from Fruit Bowl.  These are essentially sweet bars made from fruit.  Each one is a mere 67 calories and quite tasty too.  Another excellent treat for when you are having a sweet tooth moment. Although I think the delivery man was a little confused by my bulk order.

Why am I choosing to share my shopping list?  Well firstly for those looking for alternatives, secondly for those that have different changes necessary in their diets.  Showing that there are many options for us to enjoy different tastes and products even if the ones we have enjoyed for a lifetime are no longer suited to us.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 8 December, 2011, in Food and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

