Dreams of Work..

Well I have woken up this morning to the realisation of how my approach to work has shifted over the last few years.

During a dream my Team Leader was asking a simple question, “What won’t happen if we don’t do this?”.  In the past my answer would probably have been highly emotional and most likely propose some form of disaster scenario and also infer the fact that it is always down to us to “save the day”.  Instead however during the dream I gave the new answer “Well we just don’t implement the new updated software at the time we planned to”.

It may seem like an incredibly simple shift but going from a position where I was so immersed in work that I couldn’t see it adequately for what it was to a place where I now have the perspective to recognise that sometimes things just won’t get done.  As long as I have done my best in my particular discipline I am not responsible and do not need to compensate for delays in other areas.  This is actually quite refreshing considering my mindset when I took this job was to “fix everything”.

I may not achieve everything I set out to, I may not achieve everything my managers would like.  If I can achieve a good centred attitude to my work, I work to the best of my abilities and provide good quality disciplined time to my office then that is sufficient.  My creative energies are now finding additional outlets to express themselves, including this blog, and this means that although my work will not suffer it will not be the wholeness of my identity.

I would encourage everyone to have a healthy and diligent approach to work, may we all have our work as a part of our lives not the primary influence.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 8 December, 2011, in Dreams, Revelations and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Work is only one part of life and only one facet of our identity. The less central we make it (even while working hard and well when there), the richer our lives and the more interesting as people we become. It’s too easy and simple to make paid work the focus. It causes us to lose perspective.

Leave a Reply

