The Moral of the Story

Recently I have been re-watching a cartoon series that I loved as a child.  She Ra – Princess of Power.

This was a somewhat short lived cartoon only lasting two seasons.  However as I look back now I wonder what my two (almost three) year old niece will have to look forward to in terms of cartoon heroes to guide her.

For those unfamiliar with She Ra, this was a spin off series from He Man.  With She Ra being his twin sister.  We have come a long way since those cartoons were made.  There have been many advances in graphics technology and animation, nowadays, is in glorious High Definition for us to enjoy on our enormous television sets.  So with all these wonderful advances what could possibly draw me back to watching a series made in 1985?

The simplest answer would be that She Ra was a childhood hero(ine) of mine.  After all she was strong, brave, compassionate, able to heal animals (something I thought was incredible) and had a cool sword too.  What wasn’t to like?
Looking through the eyes of adulthood I can also see that the series had a sense of moral service to the children viewing it.  There is a little creature called Loo-Kee who hides in each episode in the background of a scene.  Giving a game like quality to watching.  If you don’t see him then he shows up at the end of the episode to show you where he was, also to provide you with the moral of the story.  Giving us (or our children) an understanding of the ideals being shown by the characters they are watching.

Of course not every episode is deeply profound but it makes me begin to wonder if there are modern cartoons that have this sense of helping to guide and shape their viewing audiences with a sense of morality and social wellbeing?

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 9 December, 2011, in Comments and tagged , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

