Is it enough to identify lessons to learn?

Well this post relates to my experience of working late on Monday.  Now in a support role such as mine it is inevitable that sometimes important things can break at inconvenient times.
I have spent a good amount of time on learning how to better address inconvenient timing and to be as positive and engaging when these situations come to pass.

The issue I encountered on Tuesday came to me 45 minutes to home time.  I was a little wary of the issue and at that time it was still unclear entirely how large it was.  Consequently it turned out to be of serious effect to our customers and did in fact need me to stay late, this is to be expected and quite normal.  Where I feel I need to better address my feelings is in learning that this issue was known about by colleagues of mine for almost twelve hours prior.  This was the point I began to take an almost personal offence to the situation.  I was not as positive as I would like to be in that situation and it was quite evident by my behaviour.

Having identified the opportunity to learn I now have to address how I can put something better in place.  I cannot change what happened on Tuesday however I can change how I react to the next scenario that comes along.  Naturally my thinking is to accept that those around me are working within the best that they can, given circumstances, available options, etc.  I need to remember to keep this at the forefront of my mind as blame serves no purpose here.

I am therefore in the limbo stage of learning where I have identified what I have done and what I need to do differently.  The next logical step is to see if I can put this into practice, hopefully the next opportunity will be far enough away that I will be effective in thinking differently towards it.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 14 December, 2011, in Comments and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

