Birthdays and the passage of time

I am thrilled today to be celebrating my nieces third Birthday.  It strikes me that progress is seeming so rapid at this age.  From birth to now she has learnt to walk and talk.  To reason and be reasoned with (to an extent).  She tells her Daddy off for smoking and is very quick to reinforce the rules that we give her back to us.  Naturally this makes the best way to set any rules to be by example.  An easy demonstration of that is that when she is here for lunch I sit at the table.  This is what I in turn was taught by my parents.  When we were kids there was almost always one meal a day where the family sat at the table together and ate.  I have always felt this is an important event for families to be together for some length of time each day.  Although with families more fragmented than ever this is now less and less possible.  Circumstances force people to be innovative with how they spend time with their children.

I often wonder how well school prepares us for life.  The classroom focuses on the logical and factual aspects.  Learning mathematics and science on a grounding of reading and writing.  Where does the learning about emotions and thought come in. These factors play a key role in how we and those that come after us will interact with each other.  They are the building blocks of our personal relationships with friends, family, loved ones and even with our acquaintances and work colleagues.

Understanding of our emotional needs and how these can be managed is an important step.  Where are the moral values of tolerance and understanding taught.  They  seem to be enforced in schools but it will fall to the parents and close family to set the example which will essentially be adopted in the formative years.

Three years seems like a blink of an eye, where will I be in a further eighteen as my beautiful niece turns 21?

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 21 December, 2011, in Comments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

