Christmas Gratitude

Well Christmas is officially over, I am back to work today and have taken the decorations down on my desk.  I travelled back home from my parents house yesterday afternoon so the location of “Home” is now back to normal. 

There was enough to haul back that I had to drop the back seats down in my little car.   Not all of this was presents as I made a nice little discovery in the loft at Mum and Dads.  Whilst helping Mum with the Christmas decorations I stumbled (almost literally) over a box filled with all my old photos.  I will shortly be going back through them and reliving some wonderful memories!

With Christmas now complete, and a work colleague reminding me it is only 362 days until the next, I am reflecting on what I have to be grateful for this Christmas. 
Certainly the wonderful gifts I received is one thing (in the shape of an IKEA bag crammed with goodies) to be grateful for, another is my unexpected photo discovery and the time I have spent with my family.
The less expected ones may be that I have now returned to my job which pays my bills and provides for me, also the inspirations I have received over the Christmas period (galvanising me into geting the Kitchen re-done) and the experiences that have helped to remind me what is important.  We accumulate things as we travel through this life, many of them at Christmas time.  We cannot take them with us into what lies beyond.  What we can take with us are our life experiences, those moments we share in our relationships and with our families and friends.  My stark reminder of this was seeing the (almost) eight year old son of one of my closest school friends.  I believe the last time I saw him was before his first birthday, as in my recent visits he was always tucked up asleep. 
I am certainly grateful for the opportunity to realise what things are important for the year ahead.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 28 December, 2011, in Comments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

