My Start to 2012

Well as I have probably mentioned on more than one occasion 2011 was a learning year for me.  It was a year my direction continued to change and I was beginning to find my feet in many ways.  I have learned how to better look after myself physically, mentally, emotionally and spiritually.  I have learned to listen to my instincts as they are the ways in which I am guided towards my soul path.  Two years ago reading a paragraph like this would have had me in disbelief, writing it is an entirely different experience and is only borne out of my own experiences.  With my blog now part of my routine I hope that these experiences will be further captured both for my own purposes as a journal but also for the interest of people like myself who are (or will be) looking for something greater in their lives.

So onwards and into 2012 there are a number of things I would like to accomplish, I will refrained from calling them resolutions as that is a statement of intent.  Plus most people consider a New Years Resolution to be a transient target that only arises this time of year.  For me these are my goals for 2012, not simply my intent but the achievement to which I will be directing my energies.

Goal One:
Has started today.  My new weight goal has been logged into Fitbit and I will again be logging food eaten as well as my exercise in order to achieve the correct calorie burn / intake ratio to achieve my target weight.  This will put me firmly in the middle of the optimal BMI range.  It will of course be aided by my continued work with food to better achieve the removal of gluten, wheat, yeast, dairy and tomatoes from my meals.  This is not an easy thing to achieve and hence a lot of my Christmas presents were food oriented.  I have a new Food Processor with lots of wonderful tools to help me to make more of my own fresh meals so that I can further avoid my list of intolerances.  I also have the Covent Garden 365 days of soup which will start a new thread in my food posts, I have picked out three January recipes and the shopping order with ingredients should arrive today.

Goal Two:
This will work reasonably closely with the first goal but the two are not the same.  I will be looking to perform exercises at home in order to tone up my abdominals.  I continue to be considered thin, however the musculature to pull my stomach in and give me a pleasantly toned look have not ever existed.  By working on my core I will also help to strengthen my back which in my family is a known weak area.  So both for the aesthetic and the health reasoning this is another important goal.

Goal Three:
For anyone that has already read through my previous posts then this one is a continuation of the work I have started in 2011.  My “A Tidy Life” posts will continue as I further clear the clutter from my one bedroom flat.  My aim is to have everything with its own place, and therefore a flat that is consistently tidy enough that unexpected guests do not trigger a panic “throw everything in the cupboard” response.  After all the less clutter in the home the less clutter in the mind!

Goal Four:
Again this slightly interrelates with the goal above.  I found a box filled with old photos that were taken by me prior to my owning a digital camera.  I hadn’t thought about these for some time and therefore was very pleasantly surprised when I have looked through them.  I have begun the process of sorting them through and have placed my first order for a number of the films to be digitally scanned.  Therefore my goal is to have all my old photos sorted scanned into digital format and integrated into my iPhoto library this year.

Goal Five:
This is my learning goal.  It may appear to be last on the list but all the goals are very important to me.  Unfortunately when you are writing they have to be in an order otherwise my words would all be jumbled and incoherent.  Most people will already know from my posts in 2011 that I will be learning Hypnosis in the next year.  Although I have not yet found the course I need to do this I trust that this will become evident as I direct myself towards this aim.

So there we have five simple enough goals.  Some may masquerade as the typical New Years Resolution particularly my weight goal, however the target requires me to lose less weight than I did in the last quarter of 2011.  This is achievable and I already have the structures in place to support me in that area.
I will of course use the blog to help track my progress to these goals and of course to tick them off as they are completed.  I wish everyone luck with all they wish to achieve in 2012, may it be the year that brings us yet closer to the people we wish to be…

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 1 January, 2012, in 2012 Goals, A Tidy Life, Learn Hypnosis, New Target Weight, Photo Digitisation, Tummy Toning and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

