New Year Root Vegetable Soup

Well fittingly the first soup I have made is the one labelled as “Fresh For January 1st” in the New Covent Garden: A Soup for Every day.  I am not nearly ambitious enough to try and do each soup every day.  I have however selected some soups to try in January and February, looking ahead to March there are a large number of interesting recipes.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Well as the title suggests this recipes is quite heavy on the vegetables.  Including carrots, parsnip, sweet potato along with leek and onion.  The smells that were wafting around the kitchen as I prepared the ingredients were most enjoyable.  And the colours were inviting also, as you can see…

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

This is the first time I have been able to experiment with my wonderful new Food Processor, by using the blender attachment.  This naturally helped to bring on the much more familiar look and texture of the soup.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Then a return once more to the saucepan for the final simmer and seasoning.  For personal preference I opted to throw in some black pepper.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After putting the final touches it was time to taste the finished article.  The soup is enjoyable although not fully to my taste, there may be some ingredient substitutions to make then next time I do this particular recipe.  Although I can probably add some seasoning as needed when I reheat the remains from the fridge.

Well the journey with soup has begun and I already have the recipes picked out (and the ingredients) for my next two attempts in January.  Next up is a fantastic sounding Three Onion Soup…

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 2 January, 2012, in New Covent Garden Soups, New Target Weight and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

