The Experimental First Steps

Anyone ready will have picked up I collected a box filled with my old photos.  These have come from old 35mm films, 11o films, APS films and surprisingly a few of the most treasured ones from a disposable camera.
With all of us these photos make up a great part of my happy memories, they are reminders of the wonderful people have known, places I have been and experiences I have had.  It was very important to me to make the right choice in bringing these wonderful pictures into now heavily digital life.

After careful investigation on the internet I decided that I would not purchase a negative scanner and try to perform my own digitisation.  After all a company that offers such services can afford to but a high end scanner that can give an image with greater resolution that I would achieve at home.  It was also proving very difficult to locate a scanner that would take both the normal negatives and the APS films which remain in the cartridge after processing.

I therefore scoured the internet looking at the options of a high street vendor versus a mail order company.  Not simply looking for the lowest price but also for the quality of service I would get.
With my choice made to go mail order I then selected five of my APS films.  Placing the order was quite simple and I stumbled across the ideal packaging to post off the films off, using a special delivery.

Friday the acknowledgement came through that the films have been safely received.  I will now be waiting up to two weeks to see the results, it may seem like long but my work will keep me busy.   I am still going through the remaining photos to select the next order and can see this will take some time as I process each set of negatives / film at a time.  Naturally enjoying the trips down memory lane each step of the way.

I will be sure to report back with the results and the company I used along with a sample of the wonderful images I receive.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 9 January, 2012, in Photo Digitisation and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

