There are more to my photos…

Yesterday saw the return of my APS films and the digitally scanned images from them.  The colour balance has come through better and the scans have even more of the picture than was in the original prints.  Due to the APS cameras capturing a wild image but only printing base on the selection you made at the time of taking the photo.

As a result I have seen extra parts of the image which may not be significant but show who was standing next to the person you were actually photographing.  Now the results cannot be better than the original photos and there are those that are obviously very marginally out of focus.  Although I would not have realised before.  The quality of the images however is very good and I am very pleased.  This certainly means that the remainder of my photos will be going to Mr Scan for processing.

Having checked off I am now able to keep the photos that I love, save others that I like to give to my friends and also to save the space for those that now I have them on the computer I do not need a print of.  I am almost through checking this first batch so very soon i’ll be placing the next order or two to send off and have processed.  Well on the way to accomplishing my goal of digitising all my photographs.

Especially as I have also been able to us a scanner at work to scan my old polaroids.  Again I have been surprised by the detail I have been able capture.  I’m so pleased with the results that I even saw a few images to share.

Firstly is one of the APS scanned pictures.  When this existed as a photo the colour balance was wrong and it was too white (probably due to the snow) as a result it was always a photo I thought was never very good.  Now as you can see below the correct balance has brought it up to being wonderful picture.

New Year in Denmark

Then following on from this discovery I went through the polaroid section and found this interesting photo showing the damage near my family home from the 1987 storm.  I can remember being sent home from school because of the storm.  Although as kids we were all out playing in the wind, using our coats as sails (holding them up over out heads) and being blown back against the playground fence.  Well that is until one of the teachers didn’t think it was a good idea and told us to come inside.

1987 Storm Damage

This surprised me as this image is taken from a tiny polaroid photo that was about 8cm (3 inches) square.  Still more work to do but the results mean that my memories will stay fresh and the photos will not now degrade as they will be kept safe in digital form.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 19 January, 2012, in Photo Digitisation and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

