How do you feel about a traffic accident?

Yesterday while I was walking to work the traffic was unusually slow and tailed back as far as I could see.  As I walked to the end of the bridge I could see that there were flashing blue lights, this is not something I like to see but an unfortunate reality.  Accidents can and do happen, although my first thought was to wonder if this was more than an accident as this particular bridge is a common suicide spot.  Nevertheless as I walked by (the great advantage of being a pedestrian whenever possible) I was able to see the last pieces of glass being swept up and a car broken and mangled on the pavement opposite.  Whilst I did this I spared a thought and sent energy to those involved in the accident, that they be safe and well looked after.  Then naturally a small thought to bring patience to those being delayed by the accident.

I also couldn’t help but wonder how many people would drive past almost cursing under their breath at the people in the accident for inconveniencing them.  How many would actually send a thought out to keep all involved safe and well?

As a driver I used to be frustrated in these situations and usually think only of the inconvenience, however my recent drive out to my Health Assessment reaffirmed that I can maintain my calm even in queues of traffic (I normally drive at times to avoid these situations).  However if there is plenty of time to get where you are going, knowing you will get there safely, is there any reason for frustration?  Why not do as I now do and think of those involved being safe, of everyone delayed being safe and arriving at their destination, late but to the understanding of others.  We are all connected at some level or another so by showing compassion to those affected by these situations we can better expect to receive that same compassion if ever we need it.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 24 January, 2012, in Comments and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

