Soup Interruptus!

Today has finally been the day to try out my last “January” soup recipe.  I have slipped a little on this front and not been as far ahead in trying out these wonderful recipes as I would like.
It would be amazing if there were some excuse to make it OK but at the end of the day the person I answer to in this area is me.  I think I’ll let myself off this once.

So todays soup is the Chicken & Lemon (Greek Avgolemone).  This was very easy to make and that turned out to be a distinct blessing this evening.  I prepared the chicken stock and had just finished poaching the chicken.  Lemons sliced in half and squeezing them in my hand, at which point my work phone started ringing.  There was no number displayed so my first instinct was to hit the silence button, then after a moment I remember I need to answer as I am on call.  Little did I know what I was in for.  I calmly answered the phone while continuing to slice and squeeze lemons, also adding the rice into the pot and letting it simmer.  All the while taking in the information regarding the situation I needed to address for work.

I was surprised at how easily I managed to carry on my soup production with my brain engaged elsewhere in the world.  Although I did not venture as far as trying to shred the chicken whilst on the phone.  They may simply be bad manners!  After completing the call it was time to start simmering, and to get my work laptop up and running to begin the process of rectifying our latest issue.  On the surface this seemed like a simple prospect.  The systems have been throwing up similar kinds of problems for a small while so as my laptop awoke and my soup sat gently on the stove I had absolute confidence that this would be fixed in a jiffy.  Oh how I love when the world has other ideas for my time.

Two hours after commencing the simmer the soup was still bubbling away on the store and I was darting into the kitchen to check on it and stir.  Followed by promptly returning to the cold reality of my laptop keyboard and the ongoing puzzle that I was mid solving.  I had suppliers and colleagues on the phone and slowly (oh so very slowly) we managed to hone in on the difficulty.  In between phone calls I was able to wolf down some very delicious soup, I will look forward to a serving that I can savour sometime soon.  Follow by another few hours of problem solving, after all this is what I am paid to do, and in my heart what I enjoy.  What can be better than diving through the systems that make up a companies operation and finding the little wart causing aggravation and deftly slicing it from the software.

In this line of work the victory is also made even sweeter by the time and effort you have to put in to get there.  This was one satisfying victory as I now have the starting point to prevent this from coming up again and we all know prevention is better than cure.

All in all a good evening, the sugar coated taste of a hard won success intermingled with another lovely soup that I would be proud to cook and serve up to guests.  This recipe will be on the recurring list although hopefully with a less dramatic presentation next time.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 16 February, 2012, in New Covent Garden Soups and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

