Adapting to Change and Remembering Patience

It has been more than two weeks since my last post.  Not because my commitment to the blog is any less than it has been, simply put my time has been allocated differently and therefore I haven’t been on my computer typing up what I have been learning.

Well there haven’t been wonderful lightbulb moments.  I have been working hard in the office and adjusting to my new responsibilities, with staff leaving and joining.  Trying to maintain the balance between work and personal time although this has needed to slip in both directions in order to keep all things going.  Keeping my calm when the pressure increases and managing to work on the 1st habit of highly effective people by being proactive, pausing in the moment and rather than reacting on auto pilot sitting back and taking the time to think through what is happening and what is the appropriate action or inaction.

I am now at the end of a four day weekend and making the time to write again.  I have committed to have a new kitchen installed which is the one room of my flat that I have been wanted to “scrap and start again” since moving in.  Visited my parents house and seen my niece who is now answering all questions starting “can you?” with “of course I can” which is a wonderful confidence that we should all have.  So I am now preparing to go back to work and to continue to strike the balance.  It hasn’t been easy the last few weeks but we cannot always choose how things go in our works lives.  We can choose how we react to it.  Hopefully I can continue to choose the calm and controlled reactions that I have been recently and to continue to grow into my new role of leading a team of people.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 4 March, 2012, in Comments. Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

