Not so “Basic” Tomato Free Pasta Sauce

Last year in my quest to cut back (or out) the tomatoes in my diet I trialled the Basic Nomato Sauce recipe.  This was OK but after freezing I found it separated the sauce slightly giving a watery element to the sauce.  This is OK if you are putting it on Pasta but at the time I was putting it on a Gluten Free pizza base.  Suffice to say the end result was passable.  I have not made the Basic Nomato again because the flavour also didn’t “wow” me and I still have some of the frozen portions in the freezer.

However Jason from Gluten Free / Dairy Free NJ kindly commented on my blog post and suggested a Tomato Free sauce recipe that he had posted that he felt was more robust than the recipe I had used.  He also suggested a Chicken Cacciatore that I have yet to try.

It took me some time to sort out to getting the ingredients together mostly as I had already got a number of trials on the go and had some indulgences over Christmas.  Nevertheless I finally got to cooking up a batch of the sauce a few weeks ago.  Heading into the experience there seemed to be more steps, more different ingredients and I was really unsure about having the garlic.  So much so that my initial intention was to leave it out.  However to be as true as I could and give the sauce a fair shot I decided to take the risk and leave the garlic in.  Having figured out the measurements and gotten the bits n bobs in the pan the smell of the garlic soon permeated my small little kitchen (shortly to have a wonderful makeover) and I wondered if I had made the right decision.  Undeterred I forged ahead, I am the kind of person that once I have decided I tend to keep going with Plan A.

I was very pleased with the sauce on the night I cooked it.  There was indeed more flavour and a better texture (what I think Jason means by saying it is more robust).  I have also been pleased with it on the multiple instances since that I have pulled out the frozen portions and cooked them up for another meal.  Even reheating by boiling in the bag (I don’t use a microwave anymore) the sauce maintains a good consistency without the watery off run that I experience with basic nomato.  I will soon have to make another batch up and certainly would take the extra time needed to use the new recipe.  Thanks to Jason for sharing this and for bringing it to me…

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 5 March, 2012, in Comments and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink. 1 Comment.

  1. Glad you enjoyed it! I’ve got one more container in my own freezer and then I have to make this again as well!

Leave a Reply

