Cycling through Summer

For the last two years I have enjoyed the Southampton SkyRide and been tracking the odd cycle ride on my RunKeeper account. Last year a friend from work joined me and whilst he tools some persuading to do a second lap he then ended up talking me into a fourth!
This year I suspect there will be five laps when the Sky Ride comes to town. Additionally my friend has signed us up for the Solent Coasts Cycling Challenge. Sixty-six miles and six ferry journeys with a challenge to raise £125 for charity.

I have also set my sights on participating in the SkyRide Bath and SkyRide Bournemouth ask quite like the idea of seeing more of the places I haven’t yet explored, plus they will help me to get ready for the Cycle Challenge.

On the website they suggest possibly going in costume for the cycle ride.  At the moment my inspiration has led me to use a T-Shirt that I have almost never worn, it is luminous yellow with a fluorescent message saying “No Regrets”, as shown below.

No Regrets

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

After deciding what to wear, which is up for negotiation is someone has any suggestions and a generous donation to make, my next challenge is being able to keep the iPhone charged for long enough to record the journey.  Although this is not strictly essential it is something that I want to do.  I am therefore looking at all sorts of extra batteries, after exhausting the search for  a “green” way to do this that would work and be cost effective.  Having looked at dynamos that would involve hundreds of pounds spent on equipment and replacing the front wheel of my bike or solar which in portable terms is still a way off being effective.  So for now I will stick with some additional battery packs to keep things going.

Hopefully all this cycling will keep me in good shape over the summer, it has certainly booked up some of my weekends and I look forward to seeing some beautiful sunny skies on these occasions!

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 29 March, 2012, in Cycling and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

