Home for Easter and How I rely on my car

I am currently sat on a train making my way back to my parents house for the Easter weekend. I had intended to start my journey last night. Having gotten in my car and decided to head to a petrol station before setting out of the longer journey I was promptly cut short.
My car has been suffering from some periods of power loss during long journeys but this has been manageable thus far. Last night she gave her final word of protest and within half a mile of home had reverted to “limp mode”. If anyone reading has had to drive a car in limp mode it is an interesting challenge if you have to stop the vehicle and restart. The engine is completely limited to 2000 revs and as such you have to move up through the gearbox faster than normal during acceleration, otherwise you peak where you don’t expect to.
Somewhat disappointed I got the car back home and accreted that I may just have to give the journey home a miss this time around.
Having slept on it I was still happy to continue the weekend and simply relax in my own company. I have plenty of things I can be I doing to keep myself entertained.

I then had an interesting experience of receiving a phone call from my dad. The reason for this being interesting is that it is a very rare event. I helped to get my dad a mobile phone at the end of last year (his first) and to my knowledge he is still using the initial ten pound credit l put in the phone!
He has been looking forward to seeing me and had baked some cakes (a tasty pass time he has indulged since his retirement) and was looking forward to sharing. He suggested the train trip I am currently enjoying and that my parents would drive me back with my bike (a key component of all my upcoming cycling activities) on Monday.
Suffice to say it didn’t take me long to lighten the load that I had packed last night and get to the train station.

Whilst it may not be easy to see what I am learning there is definitely a benefit. I am considering the train as an alternative to get my to Bournemouth and Bath for the SkyRide events. It also allows me to appreciate how lucky I am to have my own transportation, and to enjoy some people watching as I sit on trains and stations along the journey. The day is crisp but with a beautiful blue sky. Only good things will come if you don’t let minor inconvenience stand in your way!

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 6 April, 2012, in Comments and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

