The #happymonday Message

In the last few days I have seen a fact stated that people are happier on Fridays and that Monday is the least happy day of the week. Not really a surprise with how most of us focus out attention.
Friday is the day we are free from our work, Monday is the day we “have” to go back to it.
What if we chose to think differently? How happy would Monday be it you accepted that work provides a lot to your life? Without work where is the workplace banter and friendships? How do you pay your bills or afford the nice new thing that you want but don’t need? How different would life be if we were all staying at home and not going to work?
I have had my own difficulties with how I perceive work. I had the odd bad day and wanted to walk out because “I couldn’t take it anymore”. I chose not to on many occasions and do felt trapped by the “I have to work” ethic.
This simply isn’t true. I choose to work! To keep my flat, my car, my phone, etc. by making it my choice I take back the power, it is not somebody else’s will or standards enforced upon me. It is my free will and choice identifying that I love my life as it is and wish to safeguard it.
I then further realised the negativity around me for Monday. People at work would utter comments that the weekend was too short, that they would rather be back at home. So I started saying happy Monday to them. It takes time. It some people now say it back! Could this simple two word message help, help us to see Monday as another day of the week? Just as a rainy day is not miserable but just rainy. Could Monday e the beginning of a new week, bringing something fresh or just the chance to do better than last week?
let’s find out…

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 25 June, 2012, in Comments and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

