Welcome to 2013…

Well the sun has risen on this glorious New Year, again filled with possibilities. Many have already woken to find out what they can achieve with the next 365 days. Others still will be waking with sore heads and wondering what the year will do for them.

I believe the secret is in understanding that the New Year is not a force by itself. It is a catalyst and we ourselves apply the force. For better or for the same as last year we drive the change in our lives. Look for what you want, not what you want to be free of. Help yourself, don’t rely on other people or a mystical force to do it all for you, yet be open to perceptions that may guide you.

As I did last year I intend to start the year with a series of goals in mind. What better way to set your own tone for what you would like from the next twelve months! They are yours to do with as you please…

Firstly I am loving the new physical dimension I have made in my life in terms of personal fitness. I am committed to seeing more of the same this year. I will be participating in a number of cycling events and have a good friend along for the ride so that we can spur each other on. His blog can be seen here.

Secondly I would like to attain more balance in my life. Balance between work and life, balance between physical and spiritual, balance between what I would like for me and what I do for others. Balance is another key to maintaining the wonderful positive outlook I have been able to adopt and nurture. Again I have many wonderful friends that help mirror this back to me and those that don’t yet mirror it can only continue to see the example I set.

Thirdly I am going to spend more time meditating and self hearing to aid both of my goals above. This is an important grounding for me to build upon as I seek to do more and to maintain a clarity that doesn’t simply vanish on a challenging day. This will also help me to unfold and explore the ideas that I haven’t yet conceived of as the year presents me with opportunities that allow me to understand more than I do now.

Fourth I will nurture my courage. The courage to do things rather than avoid them. To take the path I would like to take rather than opt for the easy option. I did this last night by going to a friends house to see in the new year rather than simply stay at home where I had already nested for the evening.

Fifth I am going to train myself to be better at letting things go. I hold on to feelings, thoughts and possessions that no longer serve me as I am now. This year I will learn to effectively release these things back into the world with joy and love. Allowing the possessions to simply leave and be used again if possible but to depart regardless of their destination. I will endeavour to enter each new day free of any influences that may lead me to prejudge what is to come.

I wish everyone the best of 2013, go out and find what it has for you but be prepared to do something to get it. Most of us live in a world where we serve ourselves rather than have all things arrive on a silver platter.

About onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 1 January, 2013, in 2013 Goals and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

