Guilt and Self Worth Part 2

Identifying what has been causing me to feel bad is only part way. The “what comes next” is how I can help shape whether I feel the same again in a week, month, year or longer. I like to have ownership of my own well being and as such simply stating what has happened isn’t enough. How can I go that extra step to try and figure out how not to fall into the same trap again.

Part of the learning this time must be for me to reform the guilt aspects I have identified. So below is the same list I published yesterday all rewritten with a positive and loving aspect to reinforce my self worth and ensure I no longer need to feel guilt for them.

I am loved and respected because I:
– give the best I am able to every minute
– exercise good judgement in accomplishing valuable tasks at work
– give my friends love, sharing in their achievements as they share in my success and joy
– have the strength to let go of possessions that are no longer serving my needs
– help my loved ones in many creative and supportive ways
– have the ability to perform my own healing which I do as needed
– have my own home and maintain it to my needs and wants
– eat the best food for me that I have available at the time I need sustenance
– take joy in my leisure activities
– share my creativity with others as often as I choose
– make effort to be helpful and work to identify when this help cannot meet the other persons needs
– am self sufficient but am strong enough to seek counsel when I need it
– express myself clearly whilst being respectful of other people’s feelings

Changing the thought patterns on these will require more than just writing them down. Beyond this I will read the list aloud to myself each morning on waking and each night before sleep. These positive messages need to be reaffirmed, watered and fed so that the feelings they evoke can grow into the gaps the waning guilt will be leaving behind as it departs.

Working on how I can continue to value myself above others is still a further challenge as I genuinely do not believe I am any better or more important than anyone else on the planet. Firmly believing in equality to a fault is somewhat of a challenging friend in this instance. So I will add to my list above the mantra “I give myself permission to place my needs first as I choose to”.

I am still working thoughts on whether there are any additional lessons from this latest bump in the road. Until I find them I will work with what I have.

About Onyxfishy

I am a thirty three year old guy learning his way through life. In early 2010 I met a special person that changed my view on life. I have subsequently been learning a new way to live aside from the hustle and bustle of making a living. My journey has been going well and so I am choosing to share some of my thoughts and experiences.

Posted on 16 April, 2013, in Comments and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a comment